Introduction to my 22 Day Fast

INTRODUCTION

So I decided to do a 21 day fast. Three weeks. I added an extra day for a kick. Fasting is an interesting method for finding those soul searching answers. Many of us have an idea of what fasting is. We know it’s giving up something for a certain amount of time with a particular purpose. We might give up pork, wine, or even Facebook. Sometimes we fast not knowing why. All in all, we know what it means.

The bible mentions fasts all throughout it’s pages. The one that sticks out to me the most is in the book of Daniel. If there’s anyone I want to be like it’s Daniel. Not just because it’s my middle name lol. But despite the fact that he was a slave to the Babylonian system, he never compromised his relationship with God, even if it meant death.

Daniel had a strange dream that he didn’t quite understand. It stressed him out so much that he prayed and fasted until something happened. After 24 days an angel appeared to him and said “Hey, it took me 21 days to deliver this message to you.” This is where I get the 21 day fast idea.

Right now I have some dreams and visions and it’s bothering me. I can’t see how it’s going to come to pass so I decided to fast like Daniel did. I am confident enough to know God will help me understand what’s really going on and I will receive the breakthrough I need.

This is my purpose for the fast.

There’s one thing I do understand. When I finish my fast, it doesn’t mean I’m done, Good job, pat on the back time to go back to what I was doing before. No. To finish means, get ready cuz it’s only the beginning.

Whenever I quote bible verses I’m going to use the God’s Word Translation and the Kings James Version.

PHASE ONE: Sacrifices of the Body

“May the God who gives peace make you holy in every way. May he keep your whole being—spirit, soul, and body—blameless when our Lord Jesus Christ comes.” [GWT]

“And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.” [KJV]

According to 1 Thessalonians 5:23, We are composed of Three Parts: Spirit, Soul, Body. In Phase one I want to focus on the Body.

Sometimes we do not know what to pray for, we don’t really know what kind of sacrifice to give to the Lord. But if there is any type of self-sacrifice we can go through, its in the body. It is the most visible and the most measurable. We can feel this right away.

How did Daniel do it? Let’s read Daniel 10:2-3

“2During those days I, Daniel, mourned for three whole weeks. 3I didn’t eat any good-tasting food. No meat or wine entered my mouth. I didn’t wash myself until the entire three weeks were over.” [GWT]

“2In those days I Daniel was mourning three full weeks. 3I ate no pleasant bread, neither came flesh nor wine in my mouth, neither did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled.” [KJV]

So we see that Daniel didn’t eat anything that satisfied his belly. He ate no meat nor wine or strong drink. He was not trying to stuff his face or anything. The first step to our fast is sacrificing pleasures. Notice that Daniel didn’t even anoint himself with lotions!! He did nothing that made him feel good to his flesh for three weeks.

If you join in the fast I advise that you take showers lol. But keep it simple. The goal is to humble ourselves. By doing this we weaken the Dark forces that feed off of our self gratification.

At least for these 22 days.

According to Daniel Chapter one, All Daniel drank and ate was Water, Fruits, and Vegetables. That’s all I’m going to eat for 22 Days. I decided to start At sundown on Sunday. If you’re reading this now and want to join, its ok, Every 6pm is a new day.

PHASE TWO: Sacrifices of the Soul

“He answered, “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind.’ And ‘Love your neighbor as you love yourself.’ ” [GWT]

“And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.” [KJV]

According to the Word of God in Luke 10:27 we must love the Lord with all our heart, soul, strength, and mind. The order is some what all over the place but the message is absolutely clear. We must love the lord with every part of our inmost being. Not just outwardly, but from deep within. I call this place the Soul.

The Soul ALSO consists of Three parts: Heart Mind and Will(strength). This is where we get our Emotions, Intellect and Desires. The Soul defines who we are.

With our bodies we decide not to please our flesh by not eating foods that satisfy our bellies. So then what are the things that might satisfy our souls?

How did Daniel do it? Daniel 9:4-6

“I prayed to the Lord my God. I confessed and said, “Lord, you are great and deserve respect as the only God. You keep your promise and show mercy to those who love you and obey your commandments. 5We have sinned, done wrong, acted wickedly, rebelled, and turned away from your commandments and laws. 6We haven’t listened to your servants the prophets, who spoke in your name to our kings, leaders, ancestors, and all the common people.” [GWT]

“And I prayed unto the LORD my God, and made my confession, and said, O Lord, the great and dreadful God, keeping the covenant and mercy to them that love him, and to them that keep his commandments; 5We have sinned, and have committed iniquity, and have done wickedly, and have rebelled, even by departing from thy precepts and from thy judgments: 6Neither have we hearkened unto thy servants the prophets, which spake in thy name to our kings, our princes, and our fathers, and to all the people of the land. ” [KJV]

Anything that we do to depart from God’s word and commandments are committed because our desires are to do what we want and not what God wants. So Phase Two is all about getting deep into that bible to submerge in that Word.

Basically, for these 22 days I want to avoid doing things that will please my soul. when it comes to intellect, I love to argue. I like to feel like I’m some kind of smarty pants. For my emotions it pleases me to sleep in all day and daydream. so for these 22 days I will do my best not to argue with people, and to get things done around the house.

The bible is very clear about haughty eyes and laziness. I am sacrificing what I want to better understand and do what the Lord wants.

I set up this system where I divided our 66 Book bible into 3 groups of 22. Each day I’m going to go into one book from all 3 sections. For example Day one I’m reading a little from Genesis, Isaiah and Romans.

I also noticed that Psalm 119 is divided into 22 stanzas of 8 verses long for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet. So I am going to be meditating on this Psalm for the next 22 days.

PHASE THREE: Sacrifices of the Spirit

This part of the fast is all about going into the spirit. I can work on my body, I can work on my soul, but the spirit is off limits. Therefore, all I can do is Praise and Worship.

Anything that happens in the Spirit level is by the Sovereignty and Will of God. If He wants to manifest himself, Praise God. If all I do for 22 days is praise and worship and nothing fancy happens? praise God too! Knowing that he sent his son to die on the cross for me so that I can be writing what I’m writing right now is enough for me to understand that God is wonderful and majestic and too good and merciful to take for granted.

In the morning and night I’m going to listen to music and get into that praise and worship mode. The goal is to break down to tears if I have to. This is personally the hardest part for me. I’m not too emotional, and I even get shy in an empty room lol. This is why Phase three is also a sacrifice.

I have to break out of this mundane comfort zone of mine.

But it’s really simple: It’s all about letting your inner being and everything around you know that there is someone who is higher and stronger and powerful and we give Him all the honor and glory and praise.

I’m not going to wait until I get to church just to “praise” God. I’m bearing it all in prayer worship and praise. This phase will be the fun part. This is the jump around, wave the arms, utter indistinguishable words, part of the fast. This represents a celebration instead of a mourning doesn’t it. Thats what makes this more than just a fast for me.

SUMMARY and CONCLUSIONS

Step 1: This is a 22 day fast. all I’m going to eat and drink is Fruits, Vegetables and Water.

Step 2: I’m going to keep my Heart Mind and Will in check by meditating on the Word of God. I divided the word of God into 3 groups of 22 books. The goal is go through the whole bible in 22 days. I’m also going to meditate on each 22 stanzas of PSALM 119.

Step 3: Each day and night begins and ends with a little worship session with praise music and prayer.

Sounds good? Lets get to it.

Leave a Reply

